Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge – 16 Nov 12 – Part III

Warnings:   At several places, we saw these warning signs for mountain lions.  We didn’t see any, but on our hike back to the next blind we did see what we were pretty sure was their scat on the trail.  Also on the trail, we saw elk scat and some we thought could be bobcat, but could have also been a dog.  I didn’t see any dogs, but there was nothing that said you couldn’t have one.  Not a good idea.  The trail was of somewhat loose material so tracks were not distinctive, but could make out plenty of wild turkey tracks.

Be on the lookout for mountain lions.

Be on the lookout for mountain lions.

By this time, it was getting to be late afternoon and starting to get dark especially with it being a mostly cloudy day.  It was the longest hike we did and to be honest, I got turned around and think I might have gotten lost if it hadn’t been for Chris being with me.  Thank you, Chris!

Getting late when we got to this blind.

Getting late when we got to this blind.

55. Evening ComesJust when we thought there really wasn’t much to see here, all of a sudden the sky came alive with the honking and flight of a multitude of geese.  And they kept coming and kept coming.  We did see and hear a few cranes later, but not in great numbers like the geese.  It was fascinating to see them reflected in the water, but try as I did I could not seem to capture it for the photos.

54. On the Move Again 56. Snow Geese 57. And Still They keep coming

I thought these clouds looked like fingers.

I thought these clouds looked like fingers.

The geese were still coming when we left the blind for the hike back to the vehicle.  We sure wondered where they were headed so was surprised to find out almost immediately after we left the parking area.  They were heading for this marsh for the night.

OMG, I wonder how many are there?

OMG, I wonder how many are there?

60. Photographer 61. Geese Everywhere62. Cranes on Fringes63. Geese 64. Flying In 65. On the WingWe were able to hike back a short distance to still another blind.  Chris snapped my picture and when I saw the results I had to laugh — now I knew I was relaxed and having a great time, but talk about “hanging loose” – that was me in this shot!    😉

Havin' Fun and Hangin' Loose!!

Havin’ Fun and Hangin’ Loose!!

This blind must have been used quite a bit for groups since it had table and chairs, etc.  Notice the many square doors at different levels that covered peepholes.  There were hardly any ducks on the pond.  A train did come through while we were there.  That was a surprise as we didn’t know there were any tracks on the other side of the pond.

67. Observation Blind

Train passing near Observation Blind.

Train passing near Observation Blind.

Through a peephole.

Through a peephole.

There was a sign that said “Don’t go beyond this point” so you know what I had to do.  I wanted to see what it looked like on the other side. 

Serious Chris.

Serious Chris.

Not serious Chris!

Not serious Chris!

It was getting dark, but we drove around some more.  We saw some killdeer and a number of sandhill cranes settling down for the night.

Kildeer.

Kildeer.

71. Bedding downWe saw four mule deer out for an evening feed.  A little later Chris saw a skunk wandering around looking for a snack.  I didn’t get a picture of it, but think he did.

72. Mule Deer doe 73. Getting DarkSadly, it was getting to be time to wrap things up.  I’m glad we didn’t do that too quickly as we were in for a gorgeous sunset!

74. Sunset 75. SunsetWhat a wonderful day!  There was a tiny gas station in San Antonio, but opted to go the 8 miles up to Socorro to gas up before heading the 130 miles to get home.  We didn’t want to chance running out of gas in the middle of nowhere as it was 55 miles to the next gas station going east toward home.  I got home about 9:00 p.m. (16 1/2 hours after leaving) tired, but happy.  I was surprised to note that we had driven almost 350 miles total that day.    You can view some of Chris’s photos also if you wish at: http://chibnerphoto75.smugmug.com        (Sorry. You may have to cut and paste).

Enjoy!!  😉

This entry was posted in Natural World. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge – 16 Nov 12 – Part III

  1. nancy says:

    Your sunset shots and the one just previous are beautiful… even if it is just a point and shoot. It must have been amazing to see all those geese settling into that marsh.
    That was a long day but worth every minute of it!

  2. broomee says:

    Darline
    I wrote a comment on here the other day and it seems to have disappeared. I remember I wrote something along the lines of this.
    Wow you are looking great, healthy and relaxed. This outing did you the world of good by the looks of you. It is an absolute pleasure to finally meet Chris and have a face to go with his name.
    I envy you this magical place and while it is a distance to travel too, it certainly was worth while. Thank you for taking your camera and sharing your photos with us.
    Your sunset shots are simply perfect. You were in the right place at the right time and have captured the moment beautifully.
    I think you getting out with your camera will be great therapy for your grieving heart.
    Hugs

    • Darline says:

      Hmmm. I wonder what happened? I thought it was odd that I hadn’t had more comments on this entry. Thank you so much for reposting your very nice comment. It definitely was a magical place and time for me made even better having such a fun traveling companion who shares my love of nature, photography, and humor. Hugs back to you.

Leave a comment